Gmail’s Undo Button Help’s with Sender’s Remorse

You know that dread you feel when you realize that you forgot to edit the email, didn’t attach something important and the recipient isn’t someone you want to think you’re a moron, or you realize that your email was really harsh and you never should have written it in the first place… Gmail’s “undo” button is for just those occasions. 

If enabled, Gmail will give you five seconds to click “undo” and prevent the message from reaching the intended recipient’s inbox.

Enabling Undo

  1. In your gmail account click “Settings” in the top right corner.
  2. In settings, click on the “Labs” tab.
  3. Scroll down to the “Undo Send” lab and click, “Enable.”

Enable Gmail Undo Send

How Undo Works

You write and email and click send, and subsequently regret it.

Probably should have written that one
Probably shouldn't have written that one.

Within five seconds of clicking send, select, “Undo.”

Don't spend too much time contemplating your decision
Don't spend too much time contemplating your decision.

After hitting “Undo,” the email goes back to draft mode where you can edit or delete it.

Crisis averted
Crisis averted!
Mark, this is not directed at you.
Mark, this is not directed at you.

One thought on “Gmail’s Undo Button Help’s with Sender’s Remorse

Leave a Reply to Mark Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s